Skip to main content

Awards, Titles & Honours in the field of literature, culture, sports:

  • Asom Sahitya Sabha Awards for literature.
  • Srimanta Sankardeva Award to honour persons of eminence in the  field of Journalism, Art, Culture and Literature. Annual award given by Government of Assam.
  • Anundoram Barooah Award for a scholar of Assamese language, literature, culture or linguistics. Annual award given by Anundoram Barooah Institute of Language, Art & Culture.
  • Bishnu Rabha Award for contribution towards the Assamese culture.
  • Assam Valley Literary Award by Williamson Magor Education Trust. Awards eminent writers of Assam and their work that embodies and upholds human values and dignity.
  • Munin Borkotoky Award by Munin Borkotoky Memorial Trust. This award is given to young and promising writers (below 40 years) writing in Assamese for their works (published or unpublished) of literary criticism or of creative literature.
  • Lachit Award is given to best sports personality of the year with proven track record.
  • Publication Board Award goes to the  author of the  best Assamese book published during past 3 years. SInce 1973.
  • Prabina Saikia Award, since 1999, instituted by Ason Lekhika Santha is given to a female Assamese writer for outstanding contribution to creative writing.

Page Content