Goalpara College Golden Jubilee Celebration - a report

Late Khagendra Nath Nath, Mujibar Rahman, Dr.Mehdi Ali, Wazuddin Ahmed, Khirod Mohan Sen, Dr. Annada Charan Das, S.N.Gupta, Dhiraj Mohan Das, Deben Kachari,and other energetic persons are there to establish the college. After the founder principal Wazuddin Ahmed some renowned assamese like Dr. Mahedra Bora, Dr. Birendra Nath Dutta,Ratna Kanta Barua, Dr. Pravin Sarma were occupied the prestigious principal seat. Many students directly choused their path to different areas like administrative, teacher, medical, law,literature, arts and culture, acting, sports, journalism, business, cultivation, politics etc from this field.
Now, the college celebrates its glorious golden jubilee. The concluding functions of its is recently concluded, from first August to eighth August’2005.


This programme was the attractive programme in the first day.

Noted poet Hiren Bhattacharyya, Sananta Tanti, Atanu Bhattacharyya and story writer Debabrata Das elaborately speak about their experiences, sources, the unopen side of their life to the fully packed house at the College Auditorium.
They answered few questions asked by their fans.
Book Fair and the Exhibition
The book fair and the exhibition which was remain open for all the eight days from first to eighth August attracts the audiences. The models made by the students of different science departments, Scout and Guide, Students from Boys’ Hostel attract the people specially the student community. Arts and craft, Embroidery, Paintings, cartoons, cane and bamboo craft, pickles, cake and biscuits exhibited by the students of Goalpara College Mr. Uday Kishor Ghose, Bharat Bhushan Deka, Nahid Sultana, Amrin Isalum, Gautam Ray Choudhury, Pappu Bose, Bhaswati Das, Nabanita Sarma, Mauchumi Kar, Pinki Saha, Juri Das, Purabi Mandal, Dipa Bhattachayya, Biplav Sarma, Suman das, Jyotirupa medhi, Rijumani Das, Punam Kumari, Barnali Saha, Aparna Saha, Parimita Mollik, Gautom Singha, Rubia Khatun, Oalina sultana, Mamon Das, Prashanta Das, Mitali Kalita, Runima Firdoshi, Afida Sultana, Dhiman Chakravarty, Sahnur Alom, Inamul Hasan, Dhritiman Chakravarty, Nasima Sikdar, Karabi Das, Nusrat Zaman also attract the audiences.

The first open meeting (6/8/2005) presided over by the local MLA, president of Golden Jubilee Celebration Committee Mr. Shadeed Mazumdar was addressed by the chief minister of Assam Mr. Tarun Gogoi. Other ministers Dr. Bhumidhar Barman, Oajed Ali Choudhury, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Loksabha member Mr Anowar Hussein, MLAs Mr. Pranoy Rabha, Shah Alom, aftabuddin Molla were also presented in the meeting.
The concluding open meeting (8/8/2005) presided over by the principal, working president of Golden Jubilee Celebration Committee Mr. Abul Masum was addressed by the chief guest Assam Sahitya Sabha president Mr. Kanak sen Deka. Mr. Deven Dutta, former vice-principal of Cotton College, addressed the gathering as the distinguish speaker. Ms. Arundhati Dutta was also presented as honourable guest.

Gakul Ch Dev Goswami, offer vote of thanks to the invitees and the remaining all.

- Gakul Ch Dev Goswami